THE MOTHER OF ALL NEWSLETTERS

In Fact, I Would Kiss My Mother with This Mouth

Happy Mother’s Day!

(Don’t Make Me Turn This Newsletter Around)

Welcome to the Mother’s Day edition of the Glennda Gazette, y’all! Hope every mom (and mother figure) out there is able to relax and celebrate in style this weekend.

A few years ago, back when I was still married, I was having one heck of a successful spring. I closed on two $4M houses in the same day (what?!) and had sixteen more closings that month. Real estate can be feast or famine, and y’all, this was a feast.

I said to my husband, “Let’s take a little chunk of this windfall and make some lifelong memories. We should celebrate by bringing our entire extended families to the beach. Your kids, my kids, their kids, we’ll bring everybody.” I had found the most perfect waterfront rental at a price so reasonable I had to stop myself from giving the owners a coaching session.

And what did my husband say to me?

He said, “I don’t want to spend the money.” The money that I had earned from eighteen closings in one month.

We ended up doing something far less grand or inclusive because he only wanted to use credit card points. I spent the trip mourning the missed opportunity to bond with the family as a whole.

One divorce later, my entire extended family now has a tradition of spending Mother’s Day week at the most fabulous beach rental, making lifelong memories. I regret nothing… save for wishing my own mother could be there with us.

@glenndabaker

If I could have one more dinner with my mom… #Glenndabaker #RealEstate #AtlantaRealEstate #DinnerWithMom #GetToKnowGlennda #Mom #MothersDay

THE REALITY OF REAL ESTATE

Monster-in-Laws Not Invited

If you want to make your home more desirable for resale, one of the best ways to do that is to add a mother-in-law suite.

Per Realtor.com, a mother-in-law suite is the name used for a bonus dwelling that may or may not be attached to the main home, serving as a place where an elderly family member can live with some independence and privacy. These suites have a bedroom and their own bath and could have separate kitchens and living areas as well. They can be as grand or as basic as your budget allows.

Having this additional space is becoming increasingly valuable, especially for Generation X members, as we’re starting to be known as the “sandwich generation,” and not because we love the spicy chicken at Chick-fil-A. The sandwich generation means that those of us in middle age are often finding ourselves responsible not just for our elderly parents, but often also our adult children. I mean, almost 60 million Americans currently live in a multigenerational household, per Pew Research.

Even if you don’t need multigenerational housing right now, these bonus rooms add value to your home and are incredibly useful for anything from a home office to a small business to an Airbnb.

Or, they can be used as she-shed where even the most stressed-out mom can get a tiny bit of peace and quiet.

If you’re considering adding an in-law suite, find out how to do it here.

SUGAR & SPICE REAL ESTATE ADVICE

Go Ask Your Mom

People are always asking me specifics on where they should buy.

Two things to note here: first, I’m sorry, but I am not your mother so I can’t tell you what to do. Second, even if I were, it’s actually illegal for me to steer anyone into a certain place. But the good news is, I have great advice on how you can determine where you’d fit in best.

@glenndabaker

Where should you live? #GlenndaBaker #RealEstate #AtlantaRealEstate #Neighborhoods #firsttimehomebuyer 

Of course, if I were your mom, I’d want you right down the street from me.

ONCE UPON A TIME WITH GLENNDA

Mama Said

I always get nostalgic for my mother at this time of year—it’s impossible not to. If I had to pinpoint my favorite memory with my mom, I’d be hard-pressed because there are thousands of them, far too many to name. However, one of my funniest ones was once when she and I went out for dinner years ago.

I’d arranged a date for later that night. I was supposed to go out with this guy and so I thought, “Okay, I'll just have dinner with my mom real quick and then I'll come back home and he and I will go to the movies.”

This was a Friday night—remember I'm 1,000 years old so this is before cell phones—so I got home and it was almost 11:00 o'clock because once you started my mom and me talking, we were impossible to stop. We totally lost track of the time, such was our conversation.

So we got back to my house and my date was slumped there on the stoop, just exhausted from waiting for me to come home. He glances at his watch and he tells my mother, “I think that you're a bad influence, Mrs. Baker.” Then she looks him up and down and she goes, “Then it's a good thing I don't give a shit about what you think.”

Oh, what I would give for one more day, one week, one month, one year with her! I would wait forever because just having the opportunity to hang out with her and laugh with her and cut up, it was everything.

My mother used to take Victoria every afternoon for an ice cream at the Chick-fil-A. She’d take her at four o'clock each day. Victoria totally worked her so she would get almost done with her ice cream and then she would drop the ice cream, so my mom would go back and get a second. Victoria thought she was being so slick. My mom knew she was being worked, yet she was a willing participant.

The other day I said to my grandson, “Let’s get ice cream.” And Callie said, “Yeah, Glitter, let's get ice cream.” Oh my stars, the opportunity to go and get him that ice cream, I mean I almost couldn't speak. It reminded me so much of my mom and the time my mom had spent with little Victoria. Now as the grandma, I'm getting to spend that time with Callie. To me, I just think I would do anything to have my mom in the car going to get ice cream at Chick-fil-A. As mundane as it sounds, of anything in the world that I could do—if I could close my eyes and snap my fingers, I would be going to get an ice cream with my mom.

If you have the opportunity to do whatever your version of the same is this week, I beg of you, take advantage of it.

You’re never too old to sit on Mama’s lap.

GLENNDA’S GURUS

The CEO of Making It Look Easy

Oh my stars & stripes, I can’t believe I get to bring y’all a chat with one of my favorite ladies. I am beyond thrilled to discuss both real estate and motherhood with a woman who excels at both. My guru this week is none other than Kirsten Jordan! I loved our conversation; we got deep into the notion of how to be the CEO of both your business and your home. Spoiler alert: balance isn’t easy, change is constant, and there’s always going to be someone judging you from the sidelines.

Kirsten Jordan was the first female broker to be cast on Bravo’s Million Dollar Listing New York. In 2021, Kirsten received the Pinnacle Award for ranking in the top 2% agents nation/wide and was honored in 2021 REALTrends + Tom Ferry America’s Best Real Estate Professionals.

Kirsten’s a mother of three who as brokered over a half a billion dollars in sales (that is five hundred million, y’all!), and she sets the tone for her team’s high-flying yet gracious culture. She’s well known for her popular real estate meets lifestyle blog, where she gives tips and tricks to making it in the world of NYC real estate, inviting readers to share her passion for motherhood, wellness, and travel. Ready to make her mark, this athlete at heart approaches each of her listings like a competitive sport. Fluent in Italian and married to a savvy developer from Milan, Kirsten adds a unique flair to the group with her specialty in the Italian clientele of New York City. So, andiamo, let’s get to it!

Thanks so much, Kirsten! Wait, I mean grazie.

GLENNDAISM

Listen to Your Mother

You only get one of each—one life, one mother, and one chance to make a good first impression. Don’t squander any of them.”

Glennda Baker